College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

We are in the 21st century, where technology is making tremenduous progress and other fields like arts and e-commerce are blooming. College students, who are considered as powerful youth and future of the country are in a rat race of achieveing the best; which cannot be considered as their fault. We live in a society where we are taught that earning a decent amount of money will define how successful you are, and thus, all college students tend to pursue subjects hat seem most likely to lead to jobs.

On the other hand, it is definitely a good sign that a part of student community are trying to walk away from the herd and try to follow their own passion instead of undermining their own interests in pursuit of job security. Few students who pursue subjects that interests them end up being extremely successful in that field; which is very encouraging. Such students not only follow their passion, but also live a happy life they always wanted.

On the contrary, it is also true that many students who follow their passion by pursuing subject of their own interest end up losing everything because of certain circumstances; and it becomes very tough to survive in such conditions without having any support; which increases the rate of unemployment. A student who is afraid of taking risks and wants a stable life, will always make the compromise of their interest in order to get a secured job.

If we have a decent job, then we get decent amount of money, and we continue to thrive on the basis of whatever we earn. Job can always guarantee you a decent and stable life with less downs and more ups. Subjects that seem most likely to lead to jobs tend to open up many other opportunities for yourself. For example, Alex is a student who studies science, so she has many option to choose her path from. But, John, who is extremely talented in painting, and wants to pursue painting as his career, he would have very little to choose because he has not learnt anything new which would open new opportunities from him.

We all agree that money is an indivisible part of our lives, and thus, all the students are always encouraged to earn more money, to gain a good stature in the society. Students who are passionate about their hobbies and talents often end up struggling for their entire lives and are lost in the frustration. Eventually, they end up doing something which highly undermines their skills in order to survive; which is the worst thing that should happen to any student.

Thus, it should be entirely upto the student what path he/she wants to choose for his life, instead of encouraging them to pursue subjects of their interests. It is a decision taken independantly by the student, and should remain pure without any outside influence or encouragement. Students are future of the country and the authorities must be wise enough to guide them to a better future instead of encouraging them to pursue their own talent, because it might go downhill after a while.