The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on this assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A letter was sent to the editor of national aeronautincs magazine. An opinion was observed, which suggested the that the space research organizations should increase their investment in resources for unmanned space flights, as the success of a series of recent unmanned space flights has demostrated to be worth by avoiding the excess expenditure and high risks of sending a manned space flight. But before this assertion is held true, few points must be discussed.

Firstly, the recent success of series of unmanned space probes belies the myriad of failed unmanned space probes which were sent earlier for research purposes. If we take only recent successes in consideration by neglecting the abundant failures, then we are setting ourselves up for an uncertain future, as the aggregate success rate is much lower. A complete record of all the missions of unmanned space probes must be studied thoroughly and then with the help of statistical information, one shall optimize the resources for space flight.

Secondly, the unmanned space probes are nothing but machines which are manufactured by humans. Undoubtedly, the probes undergo numerous tests and debugging, but we must agree that humans are bound to make mistakes. If a faulty probe is sent on a mission, then it will blatantly gather faulty data and we will never be able to check the veracity of it. If manned space flights are employed, then a skilled engineer can always fix the probe and will double check the truthfulness of data before processing it. If one such probe is failed, then millions of dollars which are invested in it are wasted, which is a huge misuse of the resources. For example, the Chandrayan-2 mission of Indian Space Research Organization was failed because of communication error and suffered a harsh landing. Huge amount of resources were wasted in this project. Had it been a manned space flight, an engineer could have taken care of communications equipment and the landing as well.

Thirdly, if manned space flights are employed, then we can expand our basis of research to many other scientific fields. For example, a man can go and study the geographical structure of celestial bodies. We can also start research of the structure of soil and many endless doors might open up. This is only possible with manned space flights, because robots are designed to do specific tasks and they are unable to think out of the box, unlike a man. This will vastly increase the scope of research.

It must be acknowledged that sending a manned space flight comes with inherent risks and prodigal use of resources; but failed unmanned space flights usually make up for the money which could have been used for a manned space flight. So, if we invest in manned flights by decreasing the resource allowance for unmanned space flights, we will open ourselves up for many other unsolved mysteries of the universe.

In conclusion, more focus on the statistial study on the success rate of unmanned space flights is required to corroborate the assertion of investing more resources in the unmanned space flights. Also, investing in manned space flights will has its own pros and cons and with proper care and handling, their success rate will be more than overall success rate of unmanned space flights.