“Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favoured proposal of the motorists’ lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year’s addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase.”

The editorial on local newspaper listed above proposes that a new bicycle lane, instead of an additional lane of automobiles, should be added to ease the traffic jams. The proposal is based on roughly two supporting evidence. one is the worsening traffic of a nearby highway, green highway, which was widened last year. The other one is that the residents are keen bicyclists who may use bikes as an alternative to commuting to work. Nevertheless, the two pieces of evidence are filled with holes and false assumptions and thereby can not effectively back up the editorial's main arguement. There are three questions we need to answer before jumping in into conclusions frivilously. Firstly, does the reason that caused the increased numbers of traffic jams on green highway necessarily be the new road project?It is possible that a highway's traffic condition changed within a year. The worsening traffic may be driven by a higher demand of green highway due to seasonal cycles, in which case, we can not accuse the addition of a road lane to be the root of the problem. For instance, if the city expects tourists in spring and summer, then the traffic of the city tend to bear a higher stress that could be mistakenly taken as the ramification of the new road construction project. Therefore, more investigations behind the problem of green highway need to be done before referencing it as an excuse for not doing the same on blue highway. Secondly, does green highway and blue highway comparable in this senario?The road condition in green highway can be dramatically different from blue highway's condition, in which case, we should not reference green highway's implications. For example, if green highway is within the suburbs, instead of between the suburbs and the city like blue highway, then same actions on roads could easily lead to different results. Lastly, are these keen bicyclists willing to bike to work?These bicycle-lovers could just treat riding bikes as a hobby, not a type of transportation tool. The distance between their home and workplace could be more than 6 kilometres, which makes bicyclies nearly impossible to be the commuting tool. In conclusion, we need more systematic research of blue highway's road condition and its nearby risidents' condition before jumping into a robust and reasonable proposal.