The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the era of post-industrial, people’s pace of lives has been accelerated nonstop with more demanding goals and more greediness. Such a modern reality is cherished by some people while is detested by others. The given statement support the latter viewpoint, accusing the fast pace of life is creating more challenges to us than it actually resolves. I tend to agree with such a statement due to the three following reasons.

Firstly, solely the fast pace does not cure much social problems for us humans than people normally assume, with other factors left out. Problems that inflicted humans for centries, like epidemics, poverty, hunger, hygiene issues, are mostly mitigated by the power of technology advancement, rather than a faster pace of life. For instance, an industrious farmer’s output is very likely to be lower than an idle teacher’s output on monetary basis. In this case, notably, working from 5 am to 10 pm painstakingly with sweats could hardly save one from poverty. But the advancement of knowledge and technology can. If the farmer can take the initiative to upgrade his farming equipment for a better harvest, he could easily get out of poverty with less time spent on hard work. To generalize, it is not rational to attribute the disappearance of so many social problems, especially the dropping number of poverty cases. to simply ‘being faster’. Historically, in fact, either the factory workers or the agricultural farmers were living an even more stressful life than people these days, while their hard work seldom paid off. Therefore, we can conclude that the benefit of a fast pace lifestyle is very limited without considering other factors that actually effectively improve our lives.

Secondly, a pushy and pressing lifestyle inevitably creates tons of problems for us, both psychologically and physically. In terms of mental health, research has consistently shown that being in an environment with too much stress hampers people’s productivity and may cause serious mental illnesses. The increasing stress of missing deadlines and the fear of being inferior to others lead people to depression and anxiety. No wonder suicide cases are becoming more and more common these days. In terms of physical health, a tight working schedule often leaves people with limited time to do physical exercises, which in turn brings threats to people’s health. Surveys have shown that the average time of outdoor exercises for people in the U.S. plummeted, as people are increasingly occupied with more workload. Such a result verifies the idea that a faster pace of life harms people’s physical health.

Lastly, a higher speed is often artificially driven, rather than being self-motivated. Children may be swamped in oceans of papers and books overnight, if they have to deal with stricter and fiercer competition. Adults tend to rush all the time anxiously when they are pressured by financial burden and career crisis. If people are given more time and choices, needless to say, more people will follow their heart in pursuit of happiness and spend time with family and friends. Because from the deepest heart of the majority people, humanistic qualities are appreciated more than contemporary high efficiency. Isn’t following human instinct more important than strive for materials?

Of course, there are both pros and cons for a rapid pace. But with the above analysis, I believe that the negative impacts outweigh the benefits it brings along. The flourishment and prosperity of the modern world has little to do with a demanding schedule, which in fact leads to so many other threats.