Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The editor of magazine suggests that unmanned flight is better alternative as compared to the manned aircraft for any researched related space mission. Though, it is definately a great thought, but intense analysis need to be conducted in this matter before actually implementing it. Also, few questions that are presented below need to be answered before considereing it even practical.

Firstly, the magazine has not provided any information on the amount and type of information/data collected by unmanned space probes and satellites. This data needs to be presented to effectively study if such data is equally usefull and comparable to the data collected through a man instead. For example, if a space craft is collecting more amount of data as compared to a manned space craft or satellite, but once the data is organised and studied, it turns out that it is not relevent and usefull for the research. Also, data collection will be the result of algorithm and instructions that are coded in the software of the spacecreaft, hence such process of designing these specific kind of space crafts may be more expensive as comapred to the manned space craft.

The exact data on how much cost is saved by not sending a man in space also needs to be provided before reaching to any conclusion. Such data is crucial in order to compare if significant cost is getting reduced so as to take this suggestion seriosly. For instance, if a space probe or satellite is sent in space against a cost of 5 million dollars without a man and it only collects a small amount of data, hence scientists need to send it thrice to complete their study. Whereas, a space craft with a man tends to cost around 10 million dollars and it is capable of collecting thrice as much data as compared to an unmanned space craft. In such as scenario, sending an unmanned space craft will act as a disadvantage for the finaces of any project.

Furthermore, editor of national aeronautics magazine needs to analyse another important scenario, that is, how the handeling of any accident will take place in case of an unmanned space craft, if it met an accident. For instance, if a space craft faced any technical issue while on a mission or during its collection of data, then how that data will be recovered and can it fix the issue by itself. In such scenarios losing connectivty with the space craft can be a huge disadvantage over manned space crafts. Such scenario will cause an explosion in cost with zero recovery of finaces for the governemnt.

In conclusion, the suggestion provided by the magazine editor needs more analysis and it needs to be presented in form of systematic study through which it can be compared with the advantages of a manned spcaecraft. Until such data is provided, this suggestion cannot be considered advantageous and may result in waste of huge resources for a country or orgainsation.