The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Over the years competition has just increased be it with increasing expectations from our ownselves or increased interaction through internet from the people around the world. The prompt suggests that society should prepare its young people for leadership by instilling in them sense of cooperation and not competition. I do not agree with this suggestion due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, the drive of getting ahead of everyone else, be it their peers or neighbour's kid, is what makes people become the best version of themselves. Specially amongst young people, this feeling of competition is what helps them out grow their expectations. For instance, few years ago in the city of Delhi schools, government had changed the scoring system from an all percentile based scoring system to a grading based system in an attempt to reduce stress and tackle growing unhealthy competition among students. Though this new system worked well in its purpose of improving overall mental health of the students and teachers altogether, but over the period of few years it has been observed that students from Delhi schoools have become less competent with respect to other states in the country and are slowing getting behind in the college enrollements, which is not helping either the schools or the teachers. Hence, competition is a big drive which helps people stay on top and grab the best opportunities.

Furthermore, some people may argue that team work and cooperation are essential to success for any organisation or individual. Though, it needs to be given more thought, that if an individual himself is not able to perform at the best of their capacity as they are too complacent in the current situation where they are. This also raises an important quetions as to why would someone have any further aspirations of betterment as most of the tasks get completed due to the mutual help and co-oporation. For example, if a young student is praised for a good score in mathematics and contributing to the overall class average. They will probably be dillusional about their performance looking at the overall average of the class, until they compare it to others who are performing way better as compared to them in most of the subjects. Therefore, depending too much on cooperation may lead to a laid back attitude over time and in turn will be more harmfull for growth for any country's youth.

Society that encourages competition has successfully created a lot of scientists who are currently at top because they always thrive to do better than others. Also, in current ever changing market scenario, it is essential to keep an eye on other new products before creating your own. Because even if you do not compete, but cosumers for those products will definately compare your products with others.

Though competition can quickly change from a blessing to a curse if not handled in a proper manner. Unhealthy competition is always harmfull , be it a young student or an employee working for an international corporation. Hence , it is extremely important for society to not get overly obsessed with constant comparing and should always encourage individuality.