The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Roscoe's executives suggest that Roscoe's stores will be a success as compared to their competitor Namen in suburb of Salem due to its population being more family oriented. Whereas, Namen's executives argue the opposite that Namen's stores will be a success due to more spending capacity of people in the region. Both Namen's and Roscoe's executives provide their predicted results on the basis of two seprate argumets based on the population of suburb of Salem. These predicted results depend of a number of questions that need to be answered before reaching to conclusion related to the decision of opening a store in the sujested area.

Firstly, data needs to be provided regarding what kindof clothes people in region of suburb of Salem are interested in buying. This data is extremely important as both the stores may be offering clothes that people in a particular region do not prefer. In that case opening both the stores in that region will be a bad idea.For instance, in New york people prefer buying more coats and leather jackets wheareas in California people prefer spending their money on shorts or casual tshirts. Hence, the clothes sold by one of Namen or Roscoe or both do not comply with the trend that is followed in terms of clothes in Salem then openinf stor eany this region will not profit them

Further, median family income can definitely be an important factor to consider while opening a store in a region for any designer store. But along with mediun family income we need to know what the median family expense is in that particula rregion. It is definatly possible that residents of regions with more family income may prefer buying designer clothes but for that they should be having money in their pockets to spend. For instance, in Vancuvor people have more earnings as comapred to any other states which may give out an impression that the speding capacity of population in that area may be on the higher side. But when we look at the skyrockting taxes in the area then it all makes sense why they have relatively more family median income. Hence, median family income should not be the only critirea for predicting wether people will be eager to spend more money. Rather a complete data of spending capacity of people in that area need to be presented for making any such predictions.

Furthermore, data of the age group of population in suburb of Salem needs to be presented so that it can be studied wether the stores comply with the requirement of shoppers in these areas. For instance, if population in this region is relatively young as compared to Winston, then they may not be interested in the same variety of clothing that people in Winston wear. Therefore, a carefull presentation of data of different age group and other attributes of people need to be presented in comparison with Winston for making a decision.

In conclusion, the arguments made by both Namen and Roscoe executives are both incomplete and no predictions should be made based on incomplete data. If in case such study need to be conducted then they need to present the answer to the above questions( preferably in form of statistical data) otherwise making decision solely on these two arguments by the executives can turn as a loss to the stores.