A person should never make an important decision alone

As the people have become more independent in current times; they have started to refrain from involving other people in important occasions and decisions of their life. The prompt suggests that a person should make an important decision all by themselves. I agree to the statement presented in the prompt, that a person should never make an important decision alone due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, the decision making ability of a person is highly influenced by their emotions. There is a saying- "never make an important decision when you are happy, sad or angry". This saying holds true, because a person is more likely to make bad decisions when they are not in a neutral emotional state. For instance, a survey conducted in early 2000's provides an interesting insight into this concept. This survey performed among over 100 people who belonged to different professions states that people who had a encountered a bad incident during their morning time, ended up having a bad day. This example illustrates how once incident that impacted the emotional state of a person at a much earlier time of the day lead them to make wrong decisions for the entire day, leading to occurrence of a series of bad incidents as a result.

Further, if a person is making an important decision, then it is very likely that he is not the only one impacted by the results of the decision. Usually big decisions such as moving to a new country or city ends up impacting the people close to the person who is making the decision. For instance, if a person needs to change their relocate to a new place or shift their house, then their wife or children will be impacted as they will need to make similar changes along with the person. Hence, taking such huge decision entirely by oneself is not fair to those people who are also impacted by that decisions. The people close to the person who is required to make the decision need to have a say in the decision.

Lastly, not everyone has the ability to make decisions themselves. This is indeed the case with so many people that they do not have the confidence to make decision for themselves. This maybe mainly because of few reasons such as less experience or insufficient knowledge. For instance, a student needs to chose a set of courses for masters but the student does not completely understand the pros and cons of studying those subjects. This is leading the student to ruminate over the decision for a long time leading to additional stress. The situation in this example can easily be resolved by taking help from the school alumnae or teachers. Therefore, stressing over making the decision alone is not always a good idea.

Some people may say that one should make their own decisions themselves as no one is better judge of their own situations other than themselves. But isn't that exactly why people should involve their family members and close friends in their important decisions? Involving other people in major life decisions creates a circle of well wishers and strong bonds between families; tackling a problem and finding a solution to it makes people come closer and understand each other's situation by putting themselves in their shoes. Involving near and dear one's in difficult situations helps to build a closely nested web of well wishers, as they start understanding your problems and connect with you emotionally.