The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie suggets in the memo that next year's marketing budget needs to be increased because of the lower number of people attending Super Screen movies this year as compared to last year. This assertion has been made on the basis of the positive reviews given by the movie reviewers which have increased this year as compared to past year. Though this suggestion by advertising director may be helpfull, but before reaching to a conclusion we need to answer below three questions.

Firstly, does the number of negative reviews given by movie reviewers for Super Star movies this year also reduced? If so, then the number of positive and negative reviews need to be shared for analysis. The memo contains information only about the increased positive reviews this year, but that data may not be sufficient to determine whether the movie reviews had an overall good or bad impression among the viewers. For instance, if the number of positive reviews were 23,000 and the number of neagative reviews were 10,000 last year. Though, this year positive reviews increased from 23.000 to 30,000 but negative reviews had a greater surge, that is from 10,000 to 70,000. If this is the case then it will substantially weaken the argument and the reviews from the movie reviews might had a negative impact on the viewers of Super Screen movies.

Furthermore, were the movies released on a suitable release date this year? For example, if the movies were released on dates that were clashing with other popular movies this year, which may be contrary to the previous year's trends, then this may also lead to a decrease in the overall viewership for the Super Star movies. Also, it needs to be analysed whether the movies this year were released on highly anticipated days (near the festivals or weekends) of the year. This data regarding the release dates of the movies need to be compared with the release dates from previous year releases because, if this is the case then increasing makreting or advertising budget will not help and the problem may remain unresolved.

Lastly, along with a quantitative comparison of the reviews , that is, calculating the change in total number of positive and negative reviews with previous year, a qualitative analysis also need to be performed, because it is possible that the negative reviews even if they were in lesser quantities, has a bad impact on the movie. For instance, few reviews may have brutely criticised and thrashed the storyline of the movies irrespective of having great caste. This is an important data that needs to be presented along with the list of actors who were working in the movies this year compared to previous year. The decrease in viewership may be a result of a change in the caste of the movies this year.

In conclusion, the suggestion in the memo for increasing the advertising budget of Super Star movies this year is made on several assumptions. Hence, it is crucial to present the above data ( preferably in the form of systematic study) before making any rigid decisions. Else, it can negatively impact the Super Star movie's budget.