Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The opinion recieved to the editor of national aeronautics states that manned flights are expensive and dangerous and unmanned are a great deal and hence there must be more investment in ummanned space flight. The opinion of not risking lives of men and women when the same quality of work can be derived seems sound enough. However, the opinion is based on the recent success of unmanned flight which may not be considerate.

The most important thing to keep in mind is that just because recently it did a great job it is not all perfectly fit.There should be detailed study and observations to be dine before investing and producing unmanned flights. The first one being what are the number of times a single space flight be used? What are chances of it failing? What would be damages caused and what would that be? Also, to highlight the letter states a great deal of useful information 'can be', it does not assure that it does gather all the information. So emphasis must be given whether it is definitely giving useful information. An unmanned ship will however be controlled by a man. It will work on the instructions given by the person operating it.

Scientists and analyst will have to feed in the input to collect useful information and whether it will be collected or not, cross chech whether it has collected right or wrong.The possibilty of missing out by a person could be less. Also nothing more can be expected from a unmanned machine unlike with human who can think about things by themselves. It shall collect only that much as instructed.

In order to conclude, before investing resources a proper study and test should be done and if it works as expected only then it should go for production of unmanned flights.