The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument states that first born infant monkeys produce up to twice as much as hormone cortisol than their younger sibling and also the mother monkey has high level of cortisol during their first pregnacy. As far as considered for mother monkey the possible reason could be the 'first time'. It could be the feeling of being pregant for the first time, being mother for the first time. The body experiences changes it has never been through before. It has been observed that first borns even in humans are little more attached to the parent than observed in younger siblings. However, it may not be case with each and eceryone.

There can be many reasons scientific reasons why cortisol is found more in first born monkey and their moms and as a layman, it can only be assumed that it can be those 'first' experiences. It is obvious for an individual to be very attached to their children and especially if it is first , they are bound to have all the love and attention. Similarly, for the first born child, the child is accustomed to undivided attention . When a child is being brought up, due to so much of attention attachment seeks no bounds. Hence, we see that when the parent leaves the child cries and when the parent arrives, the child will not leave the parent.

The author also compares that with younger sibling. The scenario with younger sibling is usually opposite. They are not accustomed to full attention, everything is divided. Similarly for the mother, during the later pregancies level of cortisol may not be high, as her body has already been through it once. Even her mind is already setup unlike her first pregnancy. However, considering from child point of view, it would not be fair to make a judgement on the above said things as it can differ from individual to individual. It can be possible for that the younger child may also feel stressed or left out if the parent is around, or no one is around.

It is essential that while the experiment is performed, the same situation is created that is, leaving the younger child in absence of parents and elder sibling. Only then can be the result factual enough to support author's argument. A survey in this manner can be accepted and agreed upon.