“A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.”

Education is today's time is indeed the most essential aspect that determines a child's future as an grown up adult to take upon life. School is the institution where a child is sent to begin the process of learning and cumulative years of learning together can be termed as education. The author states here that all of the students within a nation should study the same curriculum until entering college is acceptable to a great extent.

Education depends on alot of factors like, where the school is; whether in metropolitian city or a remote village, It has hi-tech classrooms with all latest technical equipments and access everybit of information of the world or a simple chalk-board classrooms with books and pen. In such scenarios the kids going into top schools surely have more access and availabilty than the kids going into a low or mediocre schools. Hence, having a fixed curriculum is throughout the country works in betterment of the students and indirectly on the society as well. All the students learn the same thing, it becomes easy to evaluate and give fair chance of eligibilty for admission to all the students.

For an instance, the education system in India is exactly based on the above interpretation. Students across the willing to enter a particular field of study give nationalized entrance test and admissions are provided on the merit of performance in these exams and previous school's GPA. They do not consider or evaluate on the basis of other things like extra co-curricular activities, internships, work experience, etc. As this would give more edge to students who have done beyond standard curriculum. Such oppotunities may not be available for a student coming from rural areas. Not only that, it makes it easier for students planning to move out of their city or state into another to pursue education. This system works in favour of both students and the admission committee.

In order to conclude and support my stand, I agree to the author's idea that there should be a common curriculum for all students within the nation , as it works in the interest of everyone and provides fair and equal opportunity for students coming from any background.