All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Every company at a certain stage requires consultation for efficiently operating. In the issue mentioned companies hire outside consultants as they feel consultants are the go to solution for efficient operation of the company. However, I believe for the fact that the company overall runs by the work of the employees. Before hiring an outside consultant it is very important to know the thoughts and status of the employees working and address to the feedback returned from the employees.

I strongly agree to the fact that listening to employees is utmost important which could reduce the need of hiring consultants.For example, if a company feels it has not been performing well in the past 2 quarters or so, the first step should be to analyze the working structure of the employees. The second step could be figuring out the strength and weakness of the employees. Another effective thing could be conducting a general meeting or a review session where employees can state their grieviences or suggest some strong strategy. Spending more time and having healthy conversation with the employees help in both ways where the employees gets an oppportunity to express themselves and the employer can make further decisions based on the result.

But, in certain cases hiring an consultant could be need of the hour. It could be due to the urgency or making strategic plans in short period of time. Consultants, surely do have an experience in making smart and well plan moves which can make

vision clearer for the employer and help in the growth of the company. But a consultant can never make as perfect plan as an employee feedback could as the consultant never knows the working of the company to the core or the issue that every employeer contributing faces.

To conclude, I firmly feel that the first and the best step is to converse more with the employees as they are the pillar and core of the company. It is essential to listen to the employees, work on the suggestions and hire a consultant if there is no way out.