Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Regarding this issue, the author of the passage contends that we should focus more on unmanned space flights rather than manned space flights. He provides evidence to suggest that there is more cost and risk in manned flights. Though the argument may have merit, because of lack of relevant evidence, unstated assumptions and vague terminology, the author of the argument fails to provide a valid case and his argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Primarily, the author does not mention anything about the skills required for unmanned space flights. Maybe we do not have sufficient resources having skills about unmanned flights. Providing existing resources with the skills or training new resources may incur higher costs than manned flights. Maybe we do not have developed technologies to implement supplant all the manned flights by unmanned probes. Developing such technologies, gaining expertise, proving trainings on new findings maybe even more costly.

Secondarily, the author says that the recent success of a series of unmanned probes and satellites has given a great deal of useful information. The author does not mention any details about the type of information gathered by unmanned probes. It maybe the case that unmanned space probes gathered only image of certain celestial bodies whereas, in projects like "exploring life on planet Mars" requires more than just the images of the planet. It requires skilled scientists and astronauts who can go there and examine the atmosphere and other living conditions of the planet. It cannot be done by the unmanned space flights.

On the contrary, the author is very much correct in the argument that manned flights involve risk of sending men and women into space. But, information useful for exploring other forms of life cannot be done by incurring some risk. Had the author mentioned that unmanned flights are exploring informations similar to the manned flight, he would have been able to back and validate his point. But, soince the author does not mention anything about the depth and the amount of the information gathered, he fails to put forward the valid case for his argument.

Last but not the least, manned and unmanned probes have equal importance. Some projects can use unmanned probes but it does not contend that these probes can replace manned probes. Even though manned probes involves risk, they can, in long run provide better infromation.