‘Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.’

Author's argument that so-called Palean baskets about he specific woven baskets might be true but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions which does not allow author to make a valid case in this context.

Primarily, I would like to argue author's point that Brim river is very deep and broad. This river might be shallow in ancient time, but due to some geographical changes it became deep and broad as it is today. If river was not deep and broad in ancient time, people living in Palea village would had easily crossed the river and imitated the woven baskets in Lithos village also. Or it may be the case that in ancient times, there were no two different villages (Palean and Lithos). It was a single village and due to geographical changes, they got divided into two parts.

Secondarily, author fails to cite that no boats existed in Palean village. He/ she said that no Palean boats have been found. It may have been the case that Palean boats existed but due to any natural disaster like flood in Brim river, an earthquake may have destroyed the village and its properties. So, the archaeologists are not able to discover any boats. Author's assumption that since no boats have been found, none really existed is fallacious. There are many ancestral assests of any dynasty which have not been found by the archaeologists but have been believed to be existed.

Moreover, I would like to say that, author has not mentioned about the design and pattern of Palean boats. This might be the case that archaeologists have found some boats. Since, they are not aware of the design of Palean boats, they may have attributed these boats to any other village. Also, author fails to conclude that, basket pattern could be brought to the Lithos village only through the Palean boat and not by Lithos boat. May be, people of lithos had developed boats, using which they used to visit Palean village for buying or copying woven baskets.

Last but not the least, I would to throw light on the fact that, it may be possible that ancient people had developed some other means of transportation between the two villages. Not exactly a boat, but using trees bark to cross the river or something else that is unknown today. They could have used this technique to transfer the Palean baskets.

Hence, we can say that, it might be true that woven baskets were not unique to Palean village but in this case, author's argument does not likely persuade to believe the same.