As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is true that today people are relying more and more on technology to solve any problem but this does not mean that their thinking ability is declining. It is the human only who has invented these technologies. As, people are using technology, they might be becoming lazy but surely not stupid. However, there ia a lot of difference between becoming lazy and stupid. Therefore, person's thinking ability is not deteriorating because of growing technology.

Primarily, I would like to say that people are using technology to make their life easier. Our every day starts with a technology and ends with it too. Whether it may be a coffee wending machine, may be a hair dryer or a car. These technologies are helping people in order to focus on other more important tasks. For instance, humans have developed vehicles like bus, car etc. Using them to go to office or school makes it easier than going to the workplace by bullock cart or by foot. We save our energy in these tasks so that it can be utilised in other more fruitful things. Students can focus better on their studies if they have not to travel on foot to their school. Technology saves time as well as energy which can be efficiently utilised in other more important issues.

Had humans not developed a smart phone. We would not have been able to connect to the person's worldwide. Today we are able to talk to the person sitting thousands of miles away. This is the gift of technology only. Smart phones and computers are being used all over the world. In addition to this, children in poorer countries, where education system is not very good, are using internet to learn. So, we can say that technology has not affected the person's thinking ability, rather, it has made people smarter, intellectual and more productive.

As it is well said that every coin has two faces, there are some disadvantages of technologies also. Here, I would like to mention that technology has also negatively affected the lives of the people. For example, invention of the calculator (whose focus was to do complex calculations) facilitated humans to calculate tedious and complex things in just a blink of eye. But, people use it for much easier calculations which can be done mentally. Invention of robots, is making the human's life easier but it is surely affecting the person's ability to do simple chores of day to day life. Inculcating more and more technology in our daily lives is surely making the humans lazy.

Finally, we can say that using technology is improving the lives of the people and does not deteriorate the human's thinking ability. It is good to invent new things and implement it in day to day life to make life easier. Technology might be affecting the person's physical ability but it is surely improving a person's thinking ability.