"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument claims that the Manned space flight is costly and dangerous, also the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information. So we should invest out resource in unmanned flight. Stated in this way the argument fails to mentions several key factors bases on which it could be evaluated. The Conclusion relies on an assumption for which, there is no clear evidence So, The argument is unsubstantiated and uncompleted. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals the little credible support for the author's argument.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. This is merely an assumption without much solid background. If the author mentions several reasons why this spaceflight is costly and dangerous than it is more plausible. For example, it may be possible we apply same procedure that apply on unmanned spaceflight than it is no more costly. The argument would have been a lot more convincing if it explicitly defined certain reason why Manned spaceflight more costly and dangerous.

Second, The argument claims that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated great deal of useful information. This is again weak and unsupported claims as the argument does not provide any explanation. For example how we assume the success of a series of unmanned space? If author mentions successful flight launch of unmanned spaceflight than it is more plausible. For example, if author mention 10 out of 8 successful spaceflights then this argument more effective.

Lastly, The author cites implicitly if unmanned flights are a success so we apply same procedure on Manned than it is also Manned flight a success and cost reduce and great information can be gathered. It is also weak assumption. For example, there are some technology used in unmanned spaceflight so it is possible that it return massive information but we can not say that Manned also return good information.

However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals the little credible support for the author's argument with respect to several critical factors and rises several skeptical questions. For example How we can say that unmanned spaceflight was a success ?, How we can say that if we invest unmanned than it is worth to invest? Without this information reader left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more wishful rather than substantive.

In Conclusion, The author's argument unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better concrete evidence. It could be considerably strengthened if the author mentions all relevant facts. In order to asses the merit of certain situation it is essential to have good knowledge about contributing factors.