Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Cow flu is one of the deadliest disease in the recent times. Once it is detected in a certain area, there are few ways to stop its spreading within the human. The given passage discussess inoculation as one of the way to save valuable lives and finally dismisses it beacause of the associated risks. The above statement argues that because of the small fatality risk that the cow flu innoculation poses, it should not be routinely administered. The argument is deceptively attractive because it catters to people's fears of possible death. However, I find the argument insufficient as it fails to provide crucial data that can perhaps strengthen or weaken the the decision to ban routine innoculations.

Anyone who has seen TV advertisments for FDA approved pharmaceutical drugs will notice that most drugs have an huge list of potentially severe side effects and in some cases even a risk of death. Nonetheless, these drugs have been approved by the FDA because the benefit they provide outweighs the potential negative effects. For example, chemotherapy, which is a very invasive procedure to cure cancer, poses a high degree of fatality risk, weakens the immune system, causes hair loss and can even lead to death. Nonetheless, people continue to choose to take it because its benefit outweighs the risk of death. In order for the author's statement to make a logical sense, we need to have statistical data on the possibility of death from vaccination. That would enable us to make a sound judgment on whether the risk is high enough to ban its use.

Furthermore, we need to be provided with evidence on what would the consequences be of not routinely administering the cow flu innoculations. It might be that the fatalities from the lack of innoculations outnumbers the possible fatalities from the adminstration of the vaccine. In this case, one can make a logical argument that the, even though there is a small risk for death from the innocultions, it is even more imperative to provide the innoculations to prevent more deaths from cow flu. It might be that there are alternatives to innoculations that can perhaps protect people from cow flu with no or a much smaller risk of fatality, and that whomever banned the cow flu innoculations has done so in favor of these alternatives. If this is indeed true, we need a detailed information on these alternative drugs.

In addition, the argument does not specify what 'routinely' exacty means. We need evidence on the number of innoculations needed to sufficiently protect one from cow flu. What the author needs to clearly specify is how many times a person needs to be innoculated to avoid cow pox that is if the enitre procedure requires one vaccine per year, then we need evidence on the frequence of innoculations that exposes one to risk of fatality from the vaccination itself. It maybe that we only need to adminster the innoculation only once in a lifetime, in which case there is no need to routinely adminster the vaccination.

In conclusion, the argument posited in the given statement is weak because it does not provide us with vital evidences that are needed to evaluate the argument. In order to strengthen or weaken the argument, we need data on the number of fatalities from the adminstration of the innoculations, the number of fatalities from cow flu in the absence of innoculations, and if they exist, altenative ways of protecting people from cow flu. Furthermore, we need specific information on the maximum number of innoculations need to sucessfully protect one from cow flu and the minimum number of innoculations that expose one to the risk of fatality.