Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement made by the author is very ambigious and does not provide clear evidence to prove his'/her conclusion. There can be may cases that the author did not think of while proving this hypotheses.

He mentions that the woven baskets that where found in the villages of Palea where assumed to be made by the Palean people but as archaeologists did more research of the near by villages they found that similar baskets were found in Lithos but there was no mode of transportation, therefore these baskets are not Palean. What the author fails to take in consideration is the change in geography since the prehistoric times, if we go deep in a study of tectonic movements we will find out that the landmasses on earth shift slightly over years and assuming that Palea and Lithos's villages were at least 500,000 years ago as the author mention prehistoric times, there could have been shift in their landmasses. Or we can say that the river also existed in the early days but was not as deep as it is now and people in those days did not require boats to commute to the other side and over time with heavy rains and surface being dissolved the depth and breadth increased.

There can be one more phenomenon to describe this that both people of Lithos and Paleans come from the same ancestor who used similar design patterns on their crockeries to ornate them. It could have been a possibility of a contentious leader with whom many of the villagers didnt agree and were forced to leave the clan and start their own settlement at a different location, or as it has been popular in the days of kings and queens, a marriage alliance to strengthen their allies and it would clearly explain how it was easy for both the villages to have the same types of baskets. Another possibility can lie in the tradition of the people of Palea, maybe they used to have some festivities and merrials in which they used the baskets as floatation devices in the Brim river and they reached Lithos and people of Lithos used those baskets as containers.

We can assumes another possibility that Palea or Lithos's people didnt use the traditional boats but made use of rafts to commute across the river and along with times the rafts got disintegrated leaving no hard proofs for the archeaologists. There can by many possibilities which the author have not taken into consideration which might weaken his/her arguement, therefore to give a judgement without carefully examining all the possibilities can render it moot.