Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

This argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that the people will die if they are inoculated against cow flu, rendering its main conclusion that inoculations against cow flu cannot be permitted invalid.

The argument leaves many unanswered questions as it makes its conclusion based on a small possibility and not actual figures. It leaves out the percentage of people that died as a result of the inoculation. Had the argument provided information about the actual number of people inoculated and the number deaths that occurred as a result of the inoculation, we would have been able to calculate the percentage of deaths that occurred. Moreover, if the percentage death is known, we would be able to compare it with the percentage of people that would be saved as a result of the inoculation, and this will help decide if the conclusion is valid or not.

The argument also states that there is a small possibility that people will die if inoculated. This could mean no one has actually died, and it is just a speculation. Therefore, not inoculating the people because of a mere speculation will be foolhardy. The data used to arrive at this possibility needs to be validated before we can arrive at a worthy conclusion.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that many lives will be saved if the people in the endemic areas are inoculated against small pox. The argument is still lacking because it does not provide any information as to whether or not these people have been previously immunized against the virus. If they have been previously inoculated, inoculating them again will be futile. The information regarding the number of people that have been previously inoculated is needed before we can say that many lives will be saved if they are inoculated against the virus

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that inoculations against cow flu cannot be permitted to be routinely administered.