An ailing patient should have access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your opinion.

Physicians deal with human lives, and so require a series of training, internships and residencies in order to be licensed to practice. This makes them competent and confident in their ability to successfully treat patients. Therefore, all patients should have a certain level of trust and confidence in the abilities of their physician without requiring access to the records of previous patients.

Firstly, human beings are different, therefore, therapeutic outcomes will differ. Hence, one cannot use the outcome of one treatment to determine the outcome of another. Therefore, this is not a reliable method of assessing the competence of a doctor. For instance, two patients with similar diagnosis, being treated by the same doctor using identical treatment methods may have different prognoses. This can be due to a number of reasons, chief of which is the immune system of each patient. Therefore, saying that a patient should have access to the treatment record of another patient to ascertain the level of competence of the doctor is wrong.

Moreover, every patient has a right of confidentiality, and so, it is illegal to disclose any kind of information about a patient to another individual. The patient could sue the doctors and every other person involved if it is discovered that there was a breach of confidentiality. One might argue that the patient will have access to only the treatment plan and outcome of treatment. If this is true, then the patient should be satisfied with hearing it from the doctor, and does not have to see the patient’s record.

On one hand, having access to these records may help build a level of trust and confidence in the doctor. However, if a patient already lacks trust in the physician, no amount of proof or evidence will make the patient regain trust. Doctors undergo rigorous training before they can practice, and they would not be given a license to practice if they have not proven to the medical board that they are competent and capable. In essence, patients should always trust that the physician is knowledgeable and would always provide the necessary treatment modalities for any illness.

In conclusion, it is unwarranted and uncalled for, for a patient to be granted access to another individual’s treatment record for the purpose of alleviating the fears of the patient and establishing the competence of the physician.