All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. in developing your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Consultants are experts in a particular field and give advice to individuals and businesses in that field, and employees are people that work for a particular business or company. In my opinion, employees who have worked for a business for some years is an expert and can serve as a consultant for that business whenever the need arises, there hiring a consultant is unwarranted.

Firstly, the employees are acquainted with the day to day activities of the company, and are in better position to suggest ways to improve the efficiency of the company. Since they work there, and spend more time there, they are aware of all the shortcomings and strong points of the company, and so, will have immediate suggestions. On the other hand, the consultants will have to spend a lot of time to intimate themselves with the affairs of the company. As we all know, time is of essence especially in the case of emergencies. Let us assume the company is running at a loss, and needs urgent suggestions on how to make profits. Their employees already know where the company is falling short, and are in a better position to give accurate suggestions, as opposed to consultants who need ample time to assess and evaluate the company. Moreover, if the management spend more time listening to their employees, and implementing their suggestions, the company may not be in a position where they are running at a loss.

Moreover, hiring consultants are extremely expensive, and for a company already running at a loss, it is not advisable. Whereas, the employees may not have to be remunerated, and even if they will be paid, it will be when positive results are evident. In contrast to that, consultants are paid before their services are employed with no guarantee that their suggestions will bring positive results early enough.

One may argue that consultants have been trained to assess and evaluate the activities of a company, and are well experienced in giving sound suggestions as opposed to employees who are just mere staffs of the company, and as a result, positive results are always guaranteed. However, the employees are not mere staffs, they are people who have been working with the company for a while and are well versed and experienced in the affairs of the company. This is a major advantage that employees have over consultants.

On the whole, having the employees bring up ideas on how to advance the company is beneficial. Not only does it save time and money, it also helps the workers improve by harnessing their critical thinking skills.