"Mesa Foods, a manufacturer of snack foods that currently markets its products within a relatively small region of the country, has strong growth potential. Mesa enjoyed a 20 percent increase in profits last year, and its best-selling product, Diabolique Salsa, has had increased sales over each of the past three years. Since Omni Inc. is interested in reaching 14-to-25-year-olds, the age group that consumes the most snack food, we should buy Mesa Foods, and concentrate in particular on marketing Diabolique Salsa throughout the country."

While the author's argument may seem true but there are many factors which should be considered to say that author's argument is strong and to the point in every aspect. Author says that Omni Inc. should buy Mesa foods as they want to reach a particular age group of 14-25 year old and concentrate on marketing of Diabolique Salsa just because there are increase in it's sales over the last few years. There are many points which are neglected by author while stating this argument.

Although it is mentioned that Mesa foods has shown strong growth potential we can't say that buying Mesa foods will help Omni Inc achieve their respective target. Mesa foods has had 20% increase in profits but the point is that Mesa foods markets it's products in small region. It is possible that most of the people in that small region like their products , but is also possible that if Mesa foods start marketing their product over a large area, most of the people will not like their products. It may happen that their profit increase percent drops down or in worst case they may even be in small lose. 20% increase in profit here the numbers may be deceiving,because if they had profit of 1000rs previously , 20% increase tells that now they have 1200rs profit which is not a very significant amount.Unless we don't know the exact numbers it is impudent to comment whether this profit increase really means more customers in the business.

Similarly Mesa's best selling product Diabolique Salsa has had increase sales over the past three years may be just because of the fact that they market their product in a small region. Also it not clear that by how many % the sales have gone up. It is possible that sales have increased but in a small proportion that is may be from 10% to 15% to 18% in the third year. Increase in sales doesn't ensure a huge increase in number of users consuming it, as we don't have the numbers.

Author says that Omni Inc. are interested in reaching 14-25 year old,but there is no proof about the fact that Mesa foods consumers are majorly in similar age group. While there has been increase in profit percentage of Mesa products it is entirely a possibility that this increase is due to increase in population of age groups other than 14-25 year old. On the similar note even if Diabolique Salsa is their best selling product we don't know whether 14-25 year old group will like that particular product. May be children of that age prefer other products than Diabolique Salsa , so the argument of concentrating on marketing of Diabolique Salsa is not a strong one.

Another important aspect which is neglected by author while stating his/her argument is that there are no other snack manufacturers than Mesa food products. Just due to the fact that Mesa foods has had increased sales and profits doesn't mean Omni Inc should buy them,there may be other manufacturers which have some products better than Mesa's food products.