Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened a cafe. Monarch, which has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer following because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Opening the cafe would clearly attract more customers. The cafe would require relatively little space. Space could be made for the cafe by discontinuing the children's book section, which will likely become less popular given that the last national census indicated a significant decline in the percent of the population who are under age ten.

The recommendation to open a coffee shop at Monarch Books is a compelling one, however this argument has numerous flaws and leaves much to be desired. The owners of Monarch Books should be wary before adopting any rash decisions, especially one so bold and costly as opening a coffee shop which requires further staffing and restructuring of their entire business operation. Before remodeling and reshaping their entire business based on this flimsy argument, the owners of Monarch books need to do further research into what might make them a more competitive business. Once they respond these three key questions, then they may or may not decide to build an entire coffee shop.

Firstly, this recommendation is strongly based on the latest national census. Although it is wise to utilize a population sample to decide which book section should be sacrificed in order to make room for a more profitable business area, a possible sampling error must be taken into account. If this is a thorough census, then there is surely data from the city and state where Monarch Books is located. Although the national sample of the population under ten may have decreased, it is possible that in the area where Monarch Books is located this is not the case. If that is so this recommendation is a fallacy, and the owners may lose customers. They may need to sacrifice another section or none at all.

Secondly, it is possible that their customers do not want more coffee shops. The owners must evaluate how many coffee shops are located in close proximity to Monarch Books, and a market analysis of their existing customer base may yield surprising results. With the advent of superhero movies, it is possible that customers want a bigger graphic novel section or a more robust music section that offers vinyl records. The owners would be wise to carry out a customer survey before setting up a costly coffee shop that may end up losing money and not attracting more customers as they already get their coffee from nearby establishments that offer the same products at cheaper prices that Monarch Books may not be able to compete with.

Finally, although one of the objectives of this recommendation is to compete with Regal Book’s new coffee shop, the owners should look into how well their competitors fared with this venture. As previously stated it is possible that customers do not want a coffee shop or can get these products at cheaper prices nearby. Regal Books is possibly worse off after building their coffee shop. If they are indeed doing better than Monarch, it may be due to other reasons. They may offer a wider range of book genres, live readings from book authors or other goods and services that Monarch Books is yet to consider as a viable option to improve their sales revenue.

In summary, although a coffee shop for Monarch Books may prove bountiful, it may be counterproductive and costly. The owners must evaluate the national census in detail in order to decide whether they should sacrifice the children’s section as this may lead to a loss of customers, they must carry out an accurate and thorough market study in order to elucidate their customers’ true demands and finally they must find the true reason Regal Books is faring better than Monarch Books. Once these questions are answered the owners of Monarch Books can make an educated decision regarding the viability of constructing a coffee shop that will be costly and may or may not be cost effective in the long run.