Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Civilization as we know it is running on borrowed time. Despite our best efforts to organize governments in cooperative agencies such as the United Nations or the European Union, nations are continuously struggling to fix the problems of today in order to better deal with the problems of tomorrow. A balance must be reached where governments can adequately align their policies and set priorities in order to address the problems the world is currently facing and later tackle and correctly solve the problems of the future. We know what the problems of the future are: climate change and overpopulation are ravaging our resources and soon there will be nothing left for the world to use in order to sustain life. However, if governments do not fix the immediate problems of today such as healthcare, poverty and access to education than we will not be able to fix the problems of tomorrow. It is a paradox, we are under strife and anxious because of what will come, however if we do not fix and correct what currently ravages government systems today than we will not achieve either goal.

The first, issue governments must tackle is poverty and inequality. There is an overwhelming amount of people who live under terrible circumstances worldwide. If governments do not cooperate and help create equality for all countries, then we cannot fix the problems of the future. Countries that are poor or suffer from inequality are unable to fix future problems such as climate change or surging numbers in their population. These masses of people significantly contribute to pollution indexes and negatively affect the environment due to their sheer numbers. Although a global stance on poverty could be disadvantageous in the sense that some countries might have to contribute some of their riches in order to sustain poorer countries, in the long run this strategy would be sustainable and cost effective once all countries reach a certain index of wealth.

Secondly, governments must contribute to educating all the masses. Without equal access to education people will continue to live in ignorance and ignore what will happen due to climate change and overcrowding. People must be made aware of their impact on the environment before we start massive campaigns to reduce climate change or these efforts will be costly and ineffective. Furthermore, education significantly contributes to reducing unwanted pregnancies, furthers people’s desire to expand their careers and will reduce the massive number of humans on the planet. Although worldwide education will be costly and difficult to implement, investing in people’s future is the same as investing in the planet’s future.

Finally, the world’s governmental agencies must address the most difficult task which is improving worldwide healthcare. Healthy populations will invest in their futures. This means that they will avoid polluting and unwanted pregnancies/STDs thereby reducing overcrowding. Healthcare access on a worldwide level is costly, difficult to implement in remote areas and one could argue that it is not feasible. However, new technologies such as cellphones allow for remote access to healthcare and make it cheaper to implement.

In conclusion, by fixing these key issues and problems of today the governments of the world could, in theory, tip the balance and finally address the issues of tomorrow. As previously mentioned fixing poverty/inequality, education and healthcare access is a daunting task. It is expensive, requires sacrifices from other nations, cooperation on a global scale and will be difficult to implement. However, in the long run, it will be a wise investment as it will be cost effective and will allow governments to cooperate and band together to fix the problems of the future which will most certainly become the problems of today very soon.