A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo sent by the movie producer is considering a lot of assumptions which needs to be examined before validating the memo.

The producer states that increasing the budget will ensure a quality product. Although attention to minute details more often that not result in creation of a better film but just increasing the budget is not the only requiremtn for granteeing a quality product.employing the extra budget at the correct places is the most important thing which is to be made sure so as to obtain a quality product.Given the fact that the director has no experience in movie directing and his only experience is of making advertisement films it is unjust to conclude that his direction of the film is not upto the mark.And it is even more harsh to extrapolate that he will take a longer time to shoot a scene. It is assumed by the producer that the director will take longer time without any knowledge about his directing capabilities.Although he is inexperienced he can be good at what he is doing and this assumption can be rendered false.Moreover, same assumption is made by the producer while quoting about the assistant producer and directors. As the producer will be supervising the assistant producer, the producer should make his assistants work faster and with more responsibility.Given the fact that assistant producers and directors are inexperienced but their effectiveness in their work and their ability to fulfill their job can't be assumed to be inefficient.

A team of inexperienced personnels can be lead by the producer and they can be made to work effectively and at a rapid pace to ensure that less amount of time is wasted on arranging things on set.Thus this assumption that the less experience of the assistant producers will lead to deterioration of the quality of the movie.

The actors as stated are going to charge for the extra time they are going to put in shooting the scenes. But in common practice the actors are paid on the movie basis and not on the scene basis so it is unlikely that they will charge extra amount for the extra time they are putting in.further more the extra time spent on the shots for their better execution will result in better quality of movie which in turn enhances the reputation and make the actors more famous. This will benefit the actors in long run so it is unlikely that they will object and ask to be paid more for extra time they are putting in for the shooting.

The final point of the note mentions that if the money is not provided the movie is assured to be a failure. Failure of a movie cant be just attributed to the roles of directors , producers and other staff. For a movie to be a good quality one, the most important factor is the script on which the movie runs. If the script of the movie is not a good one and has loose plot and incoherent turns, the movie is likely to fail despite having an experienced staff. A director and a producer , even at their best , can produce a movie which is as good as its script and storyline.Getting an experienced staff does not suffice the necessary ingredients for a good movie.

Thus in conclusion the argument made by the producer for increase in funds to ensure a good quality product is a shaky one and rests on assumptions which are not necessarily true and can;t be attributed to films success