A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

we can understand the concern of the producer of the movie for his request to increase 10% funding for its working title. But before that we need to rethink on the arguments he mentioned in the memo.

The producer said they need an extra of 10% funds for its working title in order to ensure a quality product. But this he is asking 10% extra just for Working title, he did not mention will their be futhure increase in rest of the movie production or will they are going to adjust with the same?

he furthure mentions the director is directing his first movie? how did was the director selected for the movie? based on his talent???

their is no answer for it?, But he sates that the director was working in a commercial ad company, but the directors experience in that company is not clear?

The producer has mentioned that the commercial ad shooting i.e advertising business is notoriously wasteful, there is not point to confirm his claim that the advertising business is notoriously wasteful??

he also states that they have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, how much have they saved??? he has also mentioned that this savings what they have saved by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors,

will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things?? this arugument states that they have failed to hire a manger??

IF t

if they have saved money is that money which they have saved hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors,

is that not enough to complete the movie???