"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased b

The argument states that to prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony, the city of Grandview should eliminate its funding for the Grandview symphony from next year's government budget. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the case relies on assumptions that by increasing the ticket price

for next year, they can prevent a city budget deficit for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that by increasing the ticket price for next year would the amount would commensurate the budget deficit. This statement is stretched not substantive in any way. For example, in the city of XYZ, during their symphony, the finance team carried out a detailed analysis, such as how much the price should be increased so that the expenses can be eliminated from next year's budget. Clearly, without proper investigation and stating that increasing the ticket price would commensurate, the budget deficit is vague. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that this should be the amount by which the ticket price should be increased so that the amount will commensurate the budget deficit.

Second, the argument claims that the private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. This is again a feeble and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the number of people who have contributed and the number of people who have actually attended if the case had provided the evidence that the total number of people contributed. Overall contribution from one family or contribution per head. then the situation would have been much more convincing.

Finally, by how much the price should be increased so that the amount can commensurate the budget deficit, and How many people contributed, what is the per head contribution. Without knowing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned above and is, therefore, unconvincing, and it could considerably strengthen if the author had provided all the relevant facts. To access a particular situation, it is essential to have knowledge of all the contributing factors.