Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether scandal are useful in drawing attention on problems that infect our society.Indisputably, we are generally aware of the problems affecting our society. Nevertheless, we don't bother to pay much attention to getting rid of those problems until it becomes a major issue for us.Thus I agree with the opinion that scandals are useful to society to focus our attention on problems that afflict us.

First of all,the number of problems that a society faces increases with its economic and technological progress. People in a society are constantly trying to improve their standard of living. Thus, it gives rise to economic imbalance amongst the members of the society. These members resort to illegal or immoral means to bridge the economic gap. Venality is an epitome of such evil that exists in society. Scandals involving politicians or government officials accepting bribes are not uncommon these days. This trend is particular rampant in developing countries like India. Even though reformers like Mahatma Gandhi have repeatedly highlighted these problems in their speeches, the public had been deaf to such problems. However, in the light of recent corruption scandals coming to light, people have become more proactive to rooting out these evils.

Furthermore, such scandals elicit a public opinion on the ways to solve the problems. Mass outcry forces media and other forms of communication to extensively debate on the ways and means to solve these problems.The public who are previously unaware of those problems, become acquainted with the issue and are equipped with the knowledge to avoid becoming a victim to such problems.

Admittedly, such scandals also cause a dis reputation of the affected society in front of the world. For e.g: Many countries mistakenly look upon India as a hub of corruption, which causes problems for the Indians living in those countries. Also,when these scandals come to light, it provides no real compensation for the loss incurred.

In conclusion, even though scandals are useful to garner attention from the people regarding a problem affecting a society, it also causes an irrevocable damage to the reputation of the society affected by the problem.