oven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

In the claim that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean, there are needed more data to demonstrate the judgment. One of the data is the newest archaeological findings about the Woven baskets, which may be found in Lithos. Others are the geological change and the economical development about both Palea and Lithos.

Although the Woven baskets have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea, there are no evidences that this kind of baskets could be made only by the Palean people. Perhaps, people of other places like Lithos weaved the baskets and sold them to the Palean people, and it lacks of relevant records about the history of these baskets. Furthermore, the Palean craftsmanship of making the baskets might have been handed down by their ancestors, who lived in Lithos. Importantly, the economy in Lithos may be more prosperous and people there didn’t preserve such baskets at all.

Geological change may be the other reason. The Brim River between Palea and Lithos might not exist long years ago, so the people of both villages could take the baskets to trade freely. Supposing that there were the Brim River, it might be narrow and shallow, and people could come across easily. Owing to the short distance, the technology of making the baskets could be learned by both villagers, so the Woven baskets were not uniquely in Palean.

On the other hand, as the article states that the Brim River is very deep and broad, villagers can swim across the river, or pole the rafts across it, which was made by wood or bamboo, if they had no technology to build the boats or couldn’t buy the boats from other manufacturers. So the Woven baskets could be sold by both villagers. The most interesting do the aquatic animals, such as the ducks, become the communication tool to take the baskets to Lithos, for the baskets’ materials are light enough to be tied to the ducks. In addition, though the Palean boats haven’t been found, it doesn’t mean that the boats hadn’t been produced in this district. These boats might have been made from easy-rotten materials like reed, and so they had disappeared without any trace.

To sum up, the claim that the Palean baskets were not uniquely in Palean need to be strengthened by the assumptions that the Lithos people had the technology to produce this kind of baskets, or both villagers could come across the Brim River by other communication tools, not boats, to trade this kind of baskets for each other.