Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

There are some complaints and negative feed backs received from audiences about the coverage of mid-night news which do not include weather and local news properly. Lossing viewers lead to less advertising contracts which may harm channel revenue dramatically.

Argument at first glance looks logical but in has some underlied mistakes . first of all increasing coverage of weather and local news although is a mean to satisfy a group of complaints, it effects should be assessed for other groups and viewers which may not be intrested in weather and local news and prefer to obtain more national news. Media should behave in a regresssion line of wide and divergent tastes among people. Focusing on one special group and covering their preferences may bring disputes for other groups and finally miss part of audiences. Thus new decision on coverage of local and wather news absulotly requre more statistical feedback from a wider sample of audiences.

On the other side recent event that is corporations which are reluctant to either make or update their advertising contracts should not be considered related directly to abovementined problem. Loosing channel viewers defenetly impact both scale and number of advertising contracts but putting all blame for weaknes in weather news coverage may not seem true. Other beneficial and absorbing programs can and should be vigurous enough to cover some defects in newsroom. Its highly recommanded to include in above assessment some factors from usability of other channel programs during a period. If a decreesing trend is shown in visibility of other programs, so avoiding new advertising contracts would be convinced by this reason.