Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument presented here claims that in order to attract more viewers and not loose any advertising revenues, the television station wants to bring back weather and local news as it was an year ago. However, the argument is incomplete and cannot be deemed solidly reasonable until a few clarifications are made.

Firstly, the author assumes the local business that used to advertise during the late-night news program have been cancelling because of longer national news and lesser time to weather and local news. How do we know that this is the only reason due to which advertisements are being cancelled? Maybe the business owners have found a better platform to advertise, or they might be just running out of money and can no longer afford to do any marketing. In order to answer all such questions the author needs to shed more light and conclusively prove that there is only reason which is longer national news and less weather and local news time.

Secondly, the author assumes that by bringing back the older timetable of weather and local news slots, the television station will see more viewers. what is the guarantee that doing so will increase the viewership as compared to present? By this time what if there was another program that attracted people and took away all the viewership? In order to bolster the claim, the author needs to bring out statistics about the before and after viewer numbers, also prove that there is no other competition in the market.

Thirdly, since most of the complaints were about the weather and local news, the author assumes that viewers want to longer hours of weather and local news. The argument doesn't provide the percentage of viewers who complained about this, what if out of all viewers there were hardly one or two percent of viewers who wanted weather and local and only they complained. In order to strengthen this, the author needs to chart out correct percentage of viewers who complained and may be carry out a survey before making any decisions.This will ensure a informed decision.

Lastly, given that we donot know answers to a lot of underlying question, it will be unreasonable to overthrow any kind of conclusion.