Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think that they should be allowed to study subjects related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Science and technology are the booming areas of this century. Every aspect of human life is governed by technology, due to which it makes necessary for everyone to know about them while in the university. Some people are of the opinion that students should be allowed to learn subjects related to science and technology, while others believe that this freedom of selecting subjects be given to students. I am of the latter opinion. Nevertheless, this essay will discuss both the view points.

On one hand, technology helps us to have a comfortable and luxurious life. For instance, there are so many devices like mobile phones that help us communicate with people across the globe and then there is home appliances like vacuum cleaner, dish washer that helps to achieve day to day chores easily. It is a good idea for everyone to keep on par and hence has an advantage to study about these at degree level by opting at least one subject. This way they understand the intricacies of machinery they use on daily basis.

On the other hand, students have very different interests and it is important for them to pursue this. They would want to study politics, arts, music or even theatre that are quite different from science. For instance, when a student wants to build a career and aim for becoming the president of the nation, then it would be right to go for subjects like social studies, economics and history that helps gather information about their field of interest. If such a student opts for a subject like nanotechnology, then it would not serve any benefits.

Moreover, forcing a subject in a curriculum will make students loose interest in it and turn out to be a waste of time and resources.

In conclusion, I agree with the fact that students should have the freedom to take up subjects according to their likes, but at the same time studying subjects related to science reap its own benefits.