Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

In the memorandrum, the manager of the the television company concludes that they should restore time devoted to the weather and local news as it was before, to attract more viewers and not lose the remaining advertising revenues. This assertion is due to complains from the viewers concerned with more coverage to nation's news rather than weather and local news. However, the assumptions by the manager does not hold water, and the following three questions needs to be answered to strenghthen the assumption.

Firstly, What are the rasons that the local company have cancelled their contract? In other words, are they related to the not showing local and weather news? It could be the possibility that the local advertisors who have cancelled their contract are facing huge losses in their business and cannot afford to pay the revenues to the television station. Also, there could be a reason that the advertisors feel that they should spend more money during daytime shows, which could attract more viewers rather than late night. If any of the statements are true, the assumption by the author does not hold place.

Secondly, Who were the viewers who complained about the local and weather news? There can be the possibility that the one's who complained are not interested in nation news and just want some entertainment at late night in terms of local news which would bring in the society news. Also, there could be possibility that the people who are complained don't want to learn about the national news as at the end of day and are not interested about it. Perhaps, there could be a possibility that the age group awake at night and the one's who complained are youngsters. Morever, there could be a possibility that, the might have complained regarding it during a bad weather and wanted to know about it. If any of the arguments in the statements are true, the assumption is weakened.

Additionally, Will weather news and local news attract more viewers and advertisors? It could be possibility that with introduction of such news, the company might lose more viewers. It could be a possible reason that people might feel such news boring and not watch it when its already the end of their day and they are already exhausted. Furthermore, there could be a possibility that they might be interested in such news time- being. They would not like to hear about it in the whole program. If any of such arguments hold place, the vitality of the statement is hampared.

In conclusion, as the statement stands, is flawed. In order to strengthen the statement, the author needs to answer these three questions and provide evidence in terms of research and reevaluate the conclusion provided. Hence, if the author answers these with appropriate research, then the vitality is proved