“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

The argument concludes that the news channel that is currently devoted to national news should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers and to avoid losing further advertising revenues. This conclusion is based on the premise of complains received from viewers regarding the change to increased time to national news and also due to losing advertising contracts. The conclusion of the argument is unsupported due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the argument does not offer detailed information regarding the complaints received from the viewers regarding the national news being aired. It could be possible that the complaints regarding the change were from a particular group interested in watching local of weather news. The channel needs to analyze further the nature of complaints before making the decision to restore the change. The complaints could also be regarding the change in weather and local news quality that could be brought by the change in the aired time assigned to it.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the loss of advertising contracts was a result of the change. It could be that the advertisers have found other news channels to advertise their product at a cheaper cost or currently there are news channels with higher ratings and advertisers would prefer them. There could also be changed in the quality of product placement by the channel with which the advertisers are not satisfied. If the channel assumes that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will be beneficial to increase the advertisement contracts that the assumption can be wrong without studying the cause of loss of contracts.

Thirdly, the argument is incomplete without the information regarding the current review of people who watch late-night national news programs. It only relies on the complaints received from viewers regarding less time to weather and news channel. But does not offer any insight into the public opinion regarding the national news being aired. The channel could conduct a survey that would help them in making a final decision.

In conclusion, if the argument could offer more information regarding the nature of complaints received from viewers, the reason for the loss of advertising contracts or the review of viewers regarding the current programs offered by the channel then the assumption made could be warranted.