"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Younger generation is certainly the future of the society and therefore it is essential that they are well prepared to take leadership roles if future. It becomes important that they are prepared from every perspective possible. But to decide what factor is essential to be incorporated to prepare young people to become a successful leader is debatable. I partially agree with the statement that we should instill a sense of cooperation in them but not instilling a sense of competition would not result in successful leaders.

The school or college going students often being supported by parents, teachers or their peers are not quite subjected to the real world scenarios where in a real leadership role they less likely to enjoy the support from them that they do now. So to provide them an experience of the real world scenario they should be subjected to a competitive environment. They should be encouraged to participate in various competitions that prepares them to take similar roles in future. The school or home environment can be very different or opposite to the real world, where being able to handle competition is an essential quality.

A leadership role in the work environment is difficult to perform with lack of cooperation. To perform a task they would require help from their employees and peers. So it is essential that they learn how to work or cooperate well with not only their peers but also in subordinates and employees. For example, a political leader cannot win an election without sufficient support from their party activists or proponents. If the political leader doesn't cooperate well with his party members he might be affecting his likelihood of winning the elections. So in a leadership role it becomes essential that they to cooperate with others to gain success.

At times, it is possible that a leader will be subjected to competition form their opponents. They need to be prepared to handle such situations tactfully. A leader who is not prepared to handle competition might succumb under the pressure and fail. For example, in government, an elected political leader is often scrutinized and criticized by their opponents for new policies or changes that they wish to implement. If a newly implemented policy is not fairly received by the citizens then the opponents will find ways to blame the political leader for being incapable. In such situation the leader needs to be prepared to deal with this competition.

In conclusion, a leader in any field would be able to perform well if they are instilled with not just a sense of cooperation but also competition from an early age.