Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those t

Students often receive counselling from colleges to discuss about their career options. College’s play an essential role in helping students make decisions regarding their future prospects. At young age we find ourselves confused about what might be best for our future. We believe that our professors or counsellors, who are often much aware about the future college options and job prospective, can offer us better advice about the jobs that might be suitable as well as relevant to our field of interest. So the advice offered by them is crucial. It should be unbiased to the current job trends.

Colleges should provide proper counselling or encourage students, by giving their interests more priority than lucrative jobs. It is quite common in India that students tend to pursue either engineering or medical instead of art or humanities as they are brought up by their parents or teachers to believe that these offer high income jobs. Most graduates then either struggle to keep up with their job that they have barely any interest in or abandon their college degree and move forward to pursue their field of interest.

Further jobs that we might pursue for sake of more income might no longer be in demand in future or might be saturated with the amount of individuals pursuing for better income. For example, 1950’s to 1980’s Nuclear engineering was in great demand as countries were researching in nuclear powers and building nuclear plants. But the demand for nuclear engineers has decreased since most countries have signed treaties to ensure peace and with the fall many nuclear engineers have lost their jobs.

The goal of future should not only be money or a better position at job but also be job satisfaction. If one is not happy with their job, then it can lead to difficulty keeping up with the day to day activities and can further lead to depression. In fact, one of the leading cause of depression is not having job satisfaction. Work should not feel like a mundane activity like cleaning or washing but a fun enjoyable activity that we look forward to the next day.

Students should be encouraged by their colleges to pursue their fields of interests as they will be much happier with their work and will be able to achieve higher goals in life.