"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This memorandum concludes that the news channel should increase the time to weather and local news programs during the late-night news programs in order to attract more views and increase the advertising revenews. To support this conclusion, the author points out to the increased number of complaints concerned with the coverage of weather and local news and decreased advertising revenues during the late-night news program. However, the argument fails to account several other possible explanations for supporting the conclusion. As discussed below, the argument suffers from several critical flaws and is therefore unpersuasive.

First of all, the author assumes that the complaints received during the late-night news program is directly associated with the less coverage to local and weather news. These complaints might be associated with the content shown in the local and weather news other than the less coverage to local and weather news. The author has not mentioned any statistical information about the complaints during the late-night news program. The author also fails to answer some questions such as how many complaints were recieved before the station had made changes to their late-night news program? How many complaints are associated with some other factors apart from the local and weather news? The author does not mentions the quantitative information about the viewership during the late-night news program and did not mention the statistical relation of the number of complaints and the viewership. In short, without presenting any statistical information and other possible exlanations for the complaints recieved, the author can not conclude the complaints are due to the less coverage of the local and weather news.

Secondly, the authoer states that local businesses have cancled their advertising contracts with the news channel because of the reduced coverage of local and weather news with out giving any logical information. There might be several reasons behind the cancellation od the advertising contracts. What if the channel has increased the advertising rated during the late-night news program? What if the local businesses have found that the viewers of the late-night news program are not kind of audience that would buy from the local businesses? What if the local businesses have found some other sort of advertising medium such as digital media or news paper which might be more beneficial to their businesses? Without considering such possibilities, the author can not state the direct relation between the cancellation of the contracts and the reduced coverage of the local and weather news program.

Thirdly, the author assumes that if the coverage time of the local and weather news program is increased, the channel will attract the more viewers and will avoid losing any further advertising revenues. The argument does not mention the past viewship before the coverage time of local and weather news has been reduced. There is not any information present about the past advertising revenues before the changes have been made. There might be some factors behind the declined in the viewership and advertising revenues. The author ignores the possible factors such as increase number of news channels in the area, reduction in the quality of the program and the change in the program directors. The author also made an assumption that the advertising revenues are decreased due to the changes in the late-night news program. Before making this statement, the author has not adequately analyzed the market and other factors affecting the advertising revenues. Thus, by incresing the coverage time of the local and weather news may neither increase the viewership rates nor the advertising revenues.

In conclusion, the argument is uncovincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide clear evidence that by increment in the coverage time of the local and weather news in lat-night news program, will result in increased viewership and advertising revenue. The argument also fails to provide a thorogh information indicating that the complaints and cancellation of adverting contracts is due to the less coverage time to local and weather news during late-night news program. FInally, the author did not provide any statistical data about the late-night news program.