In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the statement claims that by improving the highways of the Prunty County, they will lower the accident rates of the Prunty County. The statement concludes to apply a similar approach to decrease the accident rates, as the Butler county. However, the statement is faulty as it stands for the following reasons.

Firstly, the author discusses the failure of the last strategy to decrease the accident rates in Prunty county. According to the statement, the residents of the Prunty County did not follow the speed limit rules and there was not a decrease in the accident rates. The statement claims that many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. But, the statement fails to provide any quantitative data. There might be a chance that most of the drivers exceeds the speed limit. The statement also fails to provide quantitative data of the accident rate of Prunty County.

Secondly, the author concludes that by applying similar startegy in Prunty County as Butler County, accident rate will decrease. However, there might be a chance that this same startegy will not decrease the accident rates of Prunty County. Some road imporvements decreased the accident rates of Butler County may not decrease the accident rates of Prunty County because the circumstances of both the counties will be different.

According to the statement, the drivers of Prunty exceeded the speed limit even on rough and narrow highways. Now, if Prunty County provide wide and smooth highways, the cases of over speeding may rise and this may lead to increment of accident rates. Hence, this strategy may not work. Lastly, the expansion and resurfacing of highway takes lots of money, time and energy. There might be a chance that the county has not enough money to bear the costs. Moreover, during the time of the road expansions, the accident rate may get even higher than the current rate because of the diversions.

Therefore, the author fails to bolster the statement by providing enough proofs. The author must include the quantitative data of the population and accident rates of both of the counties to strenghten the statement. Hence, I found the statement is faulty as it stands.