Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

In this argument, the speaker argues that over the past year the news program increased time to national news and thus decrease the weather and local news. Therefore they received complaints by viewers and their advertising revenues declined. In order to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, they need to expand coverage of weather and local news on all news programs. However, I find this argument unconving in some respects.

To begin with, the exact number of complaints they received is not clear. Most of complaints are about their coverage of weahter and local news, yet the totall number of complaints might be significantly small compared to the tremendous number of viewers of their news program. And there may be more viewers who like national news due in great part to the program's change on time of schedule.

And the fact that advertising contracts were cancelled does not necessarily have to do with their news program. The speaker ignored other critical factors. For instance, their whole nation was suffering a economic crisis. And for the companies who do the advertising, they has to cut the buget of advertising on the speaker's news program in order to get through the crisis. And there is a good chance that speaker ignores that what decides a company's advertising revenues is their programs quality. During the past year their program might not make the program cautionsly and the advertisers felt bored seeing the programs, therefore they cancelled the revenues. Further investigation is required to figure out the ultimate reason causing the speaker's program's lose.

Even if their decision had a negative effect, there is no guarantee that they can achieve attracting more and avoid lose if they expand coverage of weather and local news. If the advertisers as well as the viewers are gone, they may never come back. Furthermore, expanding our coverage of weather and local news on all news programs is unwise. The speaker did not do any research and analyse to prove the rate of success. After all, the just manulpinate the late-night news program which is not core business. The other programs might be more superior and need cautious preserve.

Proper research and analysis on similar lines needs to be done before coming to a conclusion that expand coverage of weather and local news can help. Since the speaker does not do any thing of such sort, the argument falls short of the convincing factor and needs more thotough insight.