People today are too individualistic. Instead of pursuing self-centered, separate goals, people need to understand that satisfaction comes from working for the greater good of the family, the Community or society as a whole.

People nowadays are indeed too individualistic. The news reporting the indifferent citizens could be found every day. Thus the speaker, on the one hand, argues that people need to nderstand the satisfaction comes from working for the greater good of the family, community or society as a whole. On the other hand, he claims people should not purse sef-centered goals. However, the idea that people work for others is unrealistic in many reasons, or in other words, this kind of wish is naive.

To begin with, in the crystal river of human history, people fought each other in order to gather more resources and social status. For the individuals, they purse fame and wealth; for the nations, they purse territories and slavery on other races. Those are all solid yet bloody truths, which illustrate the selfish inborn of human nature. Thus requiring peope to work for society as a whole is unrealistic. Mort importantly, according to Adam Smith, the famous economist,in his Wealth Of Nations, people are deemed to be selfish and lazy thus they need rewards for working. Therefore, people who get used to pursing individual wellfare are not likely to change to devote to working for societies as a whole.

Although while facing the same obstacles or disaters people are willing to sarcrifise or devote themselves to public, the stimulation will not last long enough for them to achieve great until they lost their interests. For instances, the Chinese in the last 60s recall to the chariman Mao's summon and everyone are in high spirit working for the public. But after a few years people began to worry about themsevles as they found hard working did not pay off, their efficiency suddenly declined. While suffering the economic crisis in the late 20s, the American held their goods until they were antiquated. They would rather starves to death than give away their personal properties.

The speaker's worry is true, yet not insightful. People are individualistic does not necessarily mean that the society and the community will not develop. As is known to us all that a individual's behaviour can not make a big difference, yet with all the purses to fullfill their own goals, our society in fact is getting better. For instances, Elan Musk invented and produced the electronic Teslar for benefits of his own. However, his invention helps us solve the environmental problems. And those nobel prizers do researches out of their own goods, for instance, reputation and patent. Yet their findings are recogized by the world and regarded as wellfare for the whole human race.

In short, the satisfaction might come from working for good of societies. Yet the individualistic pursues can also benefit and society and are more effecient than voluntary sacrifise.