"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

In the given argument, since the viewers of the television station are complaining and the local advertisers have cancelled their contracts, the business manager believes that restoring their devoted time to weather and local news to its formal level will prove to be a solution to this problem. However, the author has not completely examined the situation and reached the conclusion in a hurry. Let's discuss a few pointers the author may have missed.

Firstly, the author mentions that they have increased their time for national news and decreased their time to weather and local news in their late-night news program. Now, taking a general public view, People usually like to see weather updates at the start of their day, so that they can plan ahead. Also, since we have newspapers and other local portals, people are more inclined to watch the news around the nation and world at night itself. So, by returning the weather report and local news to its formal level, the author might end up getting more complaints about the show.

Secondly, the author mentions that many complaints were received from viewers regarding weather coverage and local news. But, whether the viewers are asking to show this news at the late-night program is nowhere mentioned. For all we know, viewers may be complaining about the quality of their local news or inaccurate weather coverage. Until the author addresses what was the exact reason for the viewer's complaints, a proper solution can't be derived.

Thirdly, the author feels that the local business that used to advertise during the late-news program have canceled their contracts due to the sole reason, that the time for weather report and local news has been reduced. The business manager should analyze from all perspectives that whether these businesses are getting better reach at people through other news channels or whether these businesses are suffering certain losses due to which they want to cancel their contracts. Also, advertising during the day may have proved to be more beneficial rather than night and hence, they have changed their thoughts.

Therefore, before reaching any hasty conclusions which may prove to even worsen the current situation, the business manager should analyze the issue from all sides, try to reach the core of the problem, and derive a proper solution for the same. Doing this will prove to be beneficial for the company as well.