Do you agree or disagree with the mentioned statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Explain details to support your answer.

I completely agree with the mentioned statement. It is really more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. This is because, the facts are anyways details of an event or subject. But, a concept can prove to form a base for learning further subject in depth.

First of all, I feel that if you a know a concept or an idea clearly, you can form your understanding around it. For example, if kids are taught the concept of addition, it won't matter what numbers you give them, if the kids have learnt the concept, they would be able to perform the addition despite the numbers provided. So, some kids tend to refer these numbers as a count of toys or candies, etc. But the important thing is they have learnt the concept and have built their understanding around it with reference to their favourite object. A fact on the contrary would not be useful in such circumstances. Facts are meant to be memorised and concepts are meant to be learnt.

Also, if we understand a concept very clearly, it becomes easy to grasp the later concepts which are dependent on the concept you just learnt. For instance, you learn the addition and calculating squares and square roots, and someone introduces you the Pythagorean theorem in Geometry, it will be very easy for you to calculate that. This is because you have already understood the previous concepts required to learn the Pythagorean theorem. There are so many ideas and concepts throughout any subject that forms the base of a more advanced idea or concept. So again, learning only facts here would prove to be a problem because you cannot always memorise everything, especially not everything that involves numbers.

Furthermore, facts are just details and can be found at one click on the internet and you do not need to apply your logic to understand that. Whereas, concepts and ideas are something that are maybe readily available on the internet, but unless you apply your own understanding and logic, you will not be able to solve problems based on that concept. A concept or an idea requires you to apply your intellectual and logical skills and hence are more important than mere facts.

While some people may disagree, specially the one with History or Archaelogy as a major because these are the fields where you are meant to remember facts. This is a subject where applying concepts does not work, since history is to be learnt as is. The civilizations, wars, kingdoms etc, are something that is an important part of the History students. So, for them learning facts is very importat. But, not all fields are like history and most of them requires their students to be thorough with concepts and not facts about the subject.

Therefore, I feel that eventhough learning facts may be important for some subjects, but learning concepts and ideas is what really shows your intellectual and mental capacity. To be able to use the knowledge provided to make or derive something new is the beauty of concepts and ideas. So, it is really more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.