"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum published by the business manager of a television station states the conclusion that the increase in viewers can be facilitated by retaining the former time of weather and local news in their late news program. Since the conclusion laid by the manager is based on the arguments and facts which are further laid upon some unanswered questions, nothing can be concluded without proper consideration and scrutinization of arguments.

Firstly, the manager states that the complaints received by the viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news but no survey statistics or report information is provided by the manager. Thus, no credence can be laid upon the fact established by the manager that the complaints were of that subject. Another important contingency to be taken into consideration is that there is no mention of the type of complaints launched by the viewers. It is possible that the viewers did not complain for the less time devoted to weather and local news but they complained because of the degraded quality of that news.

Secondly, the point that is laid by the manager on the fact that the advertising companies have canceled their contracts with them has a loophole in it. It is possible that the contractors refused to advertise their news because they did not provide relevant content which led to a decrease in viewers and ultimately proved to be a loss for those advertising companies. Simply considering the fact that the advertising companies declined to make a contract because of a decrease in time devoted to weather and local news is spurious. Also, there is a possibility that those advertising companies have started collaborating with other television stations who provide better content on a low cost.

Lastly, the conclusion states that to increase more viewers and to avoid further loss in advertising can be compensated by restoring the former times devoted to weather and local news. This fact can be strengthened by reaching to the users and then drawing out the bigger picture of what needs to be improved. Simply assuming that they are unhappy with the less time is fallacious. Carrying out surveys and reports based on viewers expectations can help in figuring out the relevant solution.

To reach to the clinch. the television station company should figure out whether or not the content provided by them to the advertising companies is at par the level with other television station companies. Also, the mere consideration of the fact that profit in revenue by attracting more users is also untrue. Improving content and including some other type of informative content can lure the viewers to watch the late-night news.