The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The memo published by the director of student housing at Buckingham college establishes the conclusion that the growing rates of outside housing and the increased enrollment in the college will make it necessary for them to increase the dormitory space.The conclusion led is based on unanswered questions and on some spurious facts. Proper examination of the situation is important for drawing a conclusion.

Firstly, no authentication of the information provided is given. The fact drawn that the number of students are likely to double is based on the current trends of enrollment of students, whose source is absent here. Thus, no credence can be laid upon the fact that this increase will account for the double growth rate in forthcoming 50 years. Also, the assumption that the enrollment will be doubled is based on the analysis done for 50 years. Since, the term 50 years is too large to be taken into consideration. Many things can change in this huge span of 5 decades. It is nominal to consider a span of a decade for designing a thought process to expand the space for living but simply considering 50 years is too long term thought.

The foundation of the argument is based on the fact that the average rent of the apartment has increased in the town during recent years, but nothing can be told about the coming years from the above laid fact. It is highly possible that people in coming years might prefer to live in the town even after paying a hefty amount of sum or may be the town living prices decline because of some or the other reason in the coming future.Also, there is a possibility for an establishment of another university in the coming future. The establishment of this new university in the proximity of Buckingham college may lead to distribution of mass of students. Also, the students may enroll in this newly established university because of its affordable living charges.

Lastly, the director of student housing sector has mentioned in the memo that attractive new dormitories will lure the students to get enrolled in the Buckingham college. This fact is not true. It is possible that higher enrollment in recent years is based on the fact that the education provided and living in campus is affordable by students, which has led to increase of students enrollment. It is possible that with more attractive dormitories the college will try to fetch more fees from students to cut the cost of construction of such dormitories. This will ultimately discourage the students to get into the Buckingham College.

Lastly no conclusion can be drawn from the facts and arguments raised in the memo published by the director.Proper statistical data of the students enrolled and the students who live inside the campus is required. Anticipating the outcome for 50 years is futile, short term plan is required to address this kind of situation. Being wary about the establishment of other universities in the proximity of the college is also important as this can lead to distribution of mass. Thus, short term solution with proper analysis on factual data in this case might help.