Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The conclusion drawn here is based on conjecture. That is, no clue can be traced for the distinctive origin of Palean baskets. The argument here is based on the absence of Palean boats which might have crossed the river in the ancient era if the basket found in the Lithos was actually Palean.

The argument raised here speaks about the Brim river characteristics- deep and broad. But on the other side of the argument, there is no mention of the nature of the river during the ancient era. It is highly possible that environmental fluctuations led to some changes in its characteristics. For example, in early age, the river was exposed to sun and remained almost dry, but due to climatic change in after years the landscape of the river completely changed.

Another counter-argument in favor of the current nature of Brim river can also be drawn. Supposing that Brim river characteristics have not changed over time, there is a high possibility that the Palean boats got washed away because due to flood in the prehistoric times, thus leaving no significant trace. Or, the material used to make the Palean boats were biodegradable and thus got decomposed in the soil.

There is also a slight possibility based on itinerants from both Lithos and Palea. That is people who traveled from Lithos bought baskets from Palea. Another point can be that Palean people bought those baskets from other areas. A lack of information about the Lithos people fails to give a complete picture of the society and technological development back then. As there is no strong evidence of origin we cannot tell that they belong to Palea.

Another discrepancy witnessed here is about the nature of Palean baskets. It is highly possible that the traces of basket are found only in Palea because the raw materials used were grown in the arable lands of Palea. On the other hand, it is possible that in early days raw materials were available in Lithos but the designing of baskets was done in Palea.

Since there is no cogency in any of the arguments drawn in the given paragraph, no straight conclusion can be drawn of the origin of Palean basket. Absence of whereabouts of boats is not the only thing which can be used to that the baskets were not of Palean origin.