Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The argument raised in the case of Omega university that the policy facilitating students to evaluate the professors' teaching effectiveness should be terminated to enable its graduates to secure better jobs. The argument may seem right at first sight but there are many loopholes in it. Many facts and considerations are not fully listed in it to derive a justifiable conclusion.

Firstly, there are no statistics provided about the university how many graduates have got jobs in the course of 15 years. Also, no credence can be laid upon the fact that grade averages have risen to 30 percent since no information about the previous years' total number of students is given in the argument given here. There is a possibility that the number of students enrolled in the last years has increased than the year it started this provision of evaluation. Or maybe the students scoring very high marks have grown significantly than previous years which has led to a high change in the aggregate.

Another thing which must be taken into consideration is the policy's effectiveness. It is possible that the professors 15 years back were strict and evaluated the students with asperity. We do not know whether the same professors for which the policy was taken out are still a part of University staff or not. Also, there is a possibility that the University provides the courses which are easy to score for students in the current years, which has led to an increase in overall grade average. Simply declaring the grading as inflated and inaccurate is not right. Also, there is a possibility that students are actually performing well because of the improved methodology of professors based on students' evaluation of their teaching techniques.

One more consideration taken by the Omega university to state their conclusion is based on the comparison with the students of Alpha university. Comparison can only be done when the curriculum of course and grading structure, as well as the number of students enrolled in grad school, are the same. Even if the above elements are the same for both the universities, we cannot evaluate the value of jobs attained by the students of both the universities. It is possible that the students of Omega university are ambitious and might have applied to big companies which are difficult to get in. Since we are not aware of the placement statistics and the numerical data of student enrollment, we cannot conclude the fact that Alpha university students are more successful than the Omega university students.

Thus, no conclusion can be led upon the argument since many facts are unknown. Considering factual data such as student count, placement stats and course structure, in this case, can help in deriving the conclusion. Mere observing the fact that the average has risen significantly should not determine the whole story about the Omega university students' success. As success comes after many failures, its value should not be traced based on conjecture.