"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum from business manager of television states that their viewers of late-night news programs were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news due to which the local business advertisers have also cancelled their advertising contracts.To evaluate this argument sucessfully,author must provide evidences for the following assumptions that I mentioned below.

To start with,the author must provide an evidence that the local business advertisers have rescinded there adverstising contracts to the reason that the station has decrerased the time devoted to weather and local news.Perhaps,the advertisers may have cancelled their contract due to the fact that the station has not cleared the funds,which the station has to pay to the advertisers.If the above reason stated is true,then the argument of the author does not hold water.

Secondly,the author must justify wheather the viewship of the late-night programs increases, if the time for weather and local news will be increased.Moreover,people who are watching the late-night programs may have now switched to another channel which provides more news and information.If above evidence stated is true,then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly,the author must provide a fact wheather the viewers who are concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news will again watch the news programs if the time for weather and local news is increased.Perhaps,the viewers who are disappointed that the weather and local news is not shown much by the program,must have lost faith on the channel and they do not want to watch the program again.

If the above statment is true,than the author claim will be weakened.

To conclude,the author must provide evidences that the reasons stated by me are specious to conclude that the argument of the author is completly correct.