Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

In this memorandum author recommends that to attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenue, they should devote time to whether and local news to its former level. To support this argument author states complaints about viewers and canceled contract from advertising companies. Here author's argument has rife of assumption which make recommendation weak. So deficiency in argument need to be addressed before author's recommendation is truly considered.

To begin with author states that television company received many complaints about weather and local news. He made assumption that because company devote weather time to late national news, people start complaining. People may have complaints about not giving good weather forecasting or they may have complaint about local news that are not true. television companies may have shown the biased news to people. So, author does not states what kind of complaints company received. To better evaluate this argument we should have evidence about what kind of complaints has been received and historical data of news that have been shown to people. By this evidence author can make decision about devotion of time.

Author states that local businesses have canceled advertisement contract with company. Here author assume that because people are not watching their channel, local advertisement companies canceled their contract. Advertisement company may not interested in advertising now because of new technology. They may have analysed that people are more interested on internet surfing than watching television. So they may have decided that advertising on television may not yield revenue and therefore they may have changed their idea about advertisement. So Author recommendation of devoting original time to weather and local news would not attract people. To better evaluate this argument author need evidence about firm document of why advertisement companies canceled their contract with television company and reason behind it. It would help to make better conclusion.

To sum up, because of having too much assumption in argument, the recommendation of devoting original time to weather and local news is not much reasonable. Author should have some evidence to better evaluate this argument.