Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument concludes to attract more viewer news program rather than weather and local news. The argument while concluding asserts that due to decline in viewer in local news, advertising revenues may also lose its potential gain. For that author assumes to expand coverage of weather and local news on all news programs. To support this conclusion author has mentioned premises as comparing past year viewers devotion higher in national rather local news. Also author have mentioned complaints regarding station coverage. Equally gave emphasis on advertising cancellation due to fewer viewers. However, careful examination of evidences reveals that, it provides weak claim.

Firstly, the argument assumes that viewers are more passionate on national news rather than weather covering and local news which have weak and unsupported assumption. In this view, author assumes devoted interest of viewers over the past years, which does not explicitly, justifies the statement. For instance, viewers may have changed their habitual activities then and now, or late night news has shifted their timed-telecast in day-time which may have reduced total allocated time of viewers in night time. To look at another way, survey done in past year may not result same this year too. Furthermore, this argument does not seem to have potential acceptable based poorly reasoned.

Secondly, the argument claims to have most of the complaints were concerned with station’s coverage and local news which lack legitimate evidentiary support. In that case, author fails to identify associated viewers habituating area which may be far from the coverage and may have disturbance in signaling the networking system. In other words, author claims most of the complaints were from coverage maintenance but fails to summit other complaints which may have prior reason for declining viewer interests. Moreover, this argument would have been more convincing if author was able to give cogent reasoning.

Thirdly, the argument argues that business people are cancelling their advertising contracts due to decline in viewer time in local news conveying the distorted view. For instance, businesses may have potential marketing strategy or advertising media to uplift their business. Notably author does not give any other specific reason for cancelling contracts. Moreover, argument can be considered unsubstantiated without strong assumptions.

In synopsis, author argument does not seem to have legitimate and cogent assumptions author must give persuasive premises to strengthen argument. To buttress this argument author may have asserts some valid facts to attract more viewers coverage of weather and local must be done.